Savor Complex
Savor Complex
Knocking Parenting Off Its Pedestal
0:00
-8:53

Knocking Parenting Off Its Pedestal

Clip from a convo about deschooling with a spiritual mentor while in seminary (a year ago)

Shout out to Rev. Marcus and the insightful, layered conversations we had while he served as a spiritual mentor during my seminary studies. And shout out to Black on Both Sides, a low-key birthday gift to me, released by Mos Def in 1999, and in heavy rotation on all my devices since then. One of the dopest songs on that album is Climb, featuring Vinia Mojica (whose voice has blessed so many jams!). In this clip, Rev. Marcus and I opened our session by listening to this song at my request. What you’re hearing is me explaining why this song is important at this particular time in my life. We segue into parenting, unschooling, confident autonomy, listening skills, and of course, savoring. May our convo shake up your comfort zone around each of those topics.

0 Comments